St Ninian's Church, Brougham, Cumbria
- What's nearby
A lovely church in a remote setting
Known locally as Ninekirks, St Ninian's stands remote down a long track, above a bend in the River Eamont and with views of the Pennines and the Lake District. It is worth finding both for its lovely setting and its fascinating history.
The original Norman church was completely rebuilt in the seventeenth century by Lady Anne Clifford, who inherited Brougham Castle. Her restoration work is recorded in the plasterwork above the altar, in a wreath with her initials AP (Anne Pembroke the Earl of Pembroke was her second husband) with the date 1660. The building is almost unaltered since, and its simplicity, combined with excellent workmanship, make it both enchanting and memorable.
The interior is whitewashed, with clear glass in the windows and a stone flagged floor. The fine oak fittings include box pews, and family pews with canopies, an elegant screen, and a three-decker pulpit.
Access to the church is via the grass footpath
Disabled access information
Access to this church is via footpath from highway over arable and grazing land.
Grass footpath though churchyard
There is a step down into the church through the main door
Facilities & Hire
Due to the historic nature of our buildings, only a very small number of them have heating, running water and toilet facilities.The lighting is usually operated via a 'push button' timer or a motion sensor.
3 miles east of Penrith, off A66, opposite Whinfell Park Farm. Parking opposite Whinfell Park Farm. From car park follow farmer's track for approx 1 mile alongside the River Eamont.
Nearest railway station: Penrith (3 miles). Bus route numbers 104/563/625.
Community information for St Ninian's Church, Brougham
All our Cumbria churches are in CCT's North region.
Useful local links: